Likely things for Andy Murray to think (about his surgery)

Leave a comment

September 22, 2013 by Parveer Mann

Andy Murray sitting mic in hand for a Fred Perry clothing event. (Image available on www.independent.co.uk)

Andy Murray sitting mic in hand for a Fred Perry clothing event. (Image available on www.independent.co.uk)

As news broke earlier this week that Andy Murray would be undergoing minor back surgery that would put him out for months, it seemed timely. Traditionally, the fall season has been full of withdrawals and injuries that seem to shut down some of the top players every year.

However, this post inspired by the British series, Mock the Week’s skit “Unlikely things for Andy Murray to think”, I’ll take a closer look at what Murray really thinks (or what he should think) about his impending shutdown.

Reality: The surgery makes him doubtful for the World Tour Finals in London.

What Andy should think: I’m fine with that. My goal to end as the year number one is well out of reach and I’ll leave it up to Nadal and Djokovic to fight it out for that these final two months. It will be disappointing to not play in front of the home crowd in London but at only 26, I’ll have more chances to do that.

Reality: Andy’s 2013 may be over completely.

What Andy should think: It may be over but it was darn good. I ended the 77 year drought for British men at Wimbledon and made another slam final on top of that. Why else do you think that nobody really got on my case when I had a terrible post-Wimbledon summer? Those lackluster results in Montreal, Cincinnati and New York will almost certainly not define me now (especially after the two slams win I have).

Reality: Whenever Andy returns, 2014 will be another big year for him.

What Andy should think: Absolutely and I wouldn’t expect anything else. I just helped Great Britain to advance to the World Group and a matchup with the USA (so I’ll be ready for that). I still think my conditioning and preparation is second to none and that will help me recover from this back problem. Plus, I’ve been so close in Melbourne that I’m absolutely going to be ready come mid-January.

Highlights of the Tennis Weekend:

Speaking of layoffs, both Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Gilles Simon returned this week in Metz and showed little rust.  The most surprising part of their returns was that it was Simon who got the better of Tsonga in two easy sets in the final. Each should be encouraged by the results as they ease back into action before the Asian swing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

